Facebook_icon   Twitter_icon

Unnamed Area < change city >

 

LOCAL TALK

< back to topic list >

Looking for reviews of weddings at Kortright

Love_birds
Bridetobe
Wedding Date: Aug, 2011
Kortright Centre for Conservation, Woodbridge, ON L4H, Canada
View Wedding

Hello!

We are planning on holding our wedding at Kortright Centre for Conservation next year. Unfortunately, I have heard some not good reviews about the food. The reviews I heard were from weddings that were several years ago, and I am aware that Kortright has changed it's wedding planner and Chef.

So...I am looking for reviews from couples who have been married (or attended weddings) at Kortright in the last year or so.

Help! We're kind of freaking!

Thanks!

Written on Aug. 31, 2010

Replies:

7 replies. Displaying 1 through 7.
250784
bella
Wedding Date: Aug, 2012
Toronto, ON, Canada
View Wedding

How did things go? Have you been able to find anything out about the food? My fiance and I are looking into this same venue for August of 2012.

Written on Jun. 09, 2011
Love_birds
Bridetobe
Wedding Date: Aug, 2011
Kortright Centre for Conservation, Woodbridge, ON L4H, Canada
View Wedding

Hello!

Sorry, not yet! My wedding is August 6th, 2011 at Kortright and we have our tasting next week. So far though, Lauren (the coordinator) has been excellent and I have been happy so far!

I can let you know more after next week (re food). I hope it's good!

Written on Jun. 10, 2011
250784
bella
Wedding Date: Aug, 2012
Toronto, ON, Canada
View Wedding

Let me know how the tasting goes! What was their pricing like? I am waiting to hear back from Lauren but it's been a week as of tomorrow.

Hope it goes well!

Written on Jun. 16, 2011
Love_birds
Bridetobe
Wedding Date: Aug, 2011
Kortright Centre for Conservation, Woodbridge, ON L4H, Canada
View Wedding

Hi!

Lauren sometimes takes a week to respond but she always does. She is very helpful and so far I have found Kortright to be very accommodating.

The food tasting went well. The food was good. It wasn't like eating in a 5-star restaurant but it was good food. The vegetables were really fresh and the steak was cooked properly and the chicken was delicious.

The desserts were also very yummy.

The pricing isn't bad. About $110 per person with a minimum of 85 people if you have it on a Saturday. You can bring your own caterer if you have your reception on a day other than Saturday and I think the minimums are different.

I will caution you about the wine though. We did not sample it at the wedding but the wine for the reception is a $6 table wine from a local vineyard. I haven't had it but I have heard nothing good about it. We will be substituting the wine for a different brand - then you pay the difference in cost.



Written on Jun. 27, 2011
250784
bella
Wedding Date: Aug, 2012
Toronto, ON, Canada
View Wedding

Thank you so much. I went for a tasting last week. You are right...not 5-star quality, but alright. What type of menu are you opting for? We are looking to have it on a Friday anyway. Hopefully we can save a few buck that way.

Written on Jul. 13, 2011
Love_birds
bride on budget

Hi Bella!

How did your wedding go? Were you happy with the food and wine?
I am planning to have my wedding at the Kortright as well
but wasn't too sure about the food. Your feedback would help me out
alot in order to come to a final decision.

Written on Oct. 15, 2013
Love_birds
Bridetobe
Wedding Date: Aug, 2011
Kortright Centre for Conservation, Woodbridge, ON L4H, Canada
View Wedding

Hi!

We had our wedding there in August 2 years ago and the food was really good. Better than the tasting even. The hors doeuvres were tasty and the meals were great. We had chicken, steak, salmon and eggplant Parmesan selections. The eggplant parm servings were massive!

We were very pleasantly surprised about the food. The whole wedding was incredible and Kortright was amazing! We upgraded our wine and added some extra booze to the order to make sure we would have enough. We also asked that they put an extra person on that day so that they could take care of some extra decorating and finishing touches. As well, we paid to have drink service through dinner. They even cut the wedding cake properly!

Despite it's appearance, Kortright is very professional about weddings and ours went off with your a hitch! People are still talking about how beautiful the setting was and how they loved dancing outdoors (we rented the dance floor). I would highly recommend it!!

Written on Oct. 15, 2013

REPLY TO THIS TOPIC

You must be logged in to post a reply.

You can log in here or register a new account here.